Skip to content

Westlife’s Westlife

11 November 2013

Westlife were an Irish boy band, formed in July 1998 and disbanded in June 2012. Originally signed by Simon Cowell and managed by Louis Walsh, the group’s final line-up consisted of Nicky ByrneKian EganMark Feehily and Shane FilanBrian McFadden was a member from 1998 until his departure in 2004.

Westlife sold over 50 million records worldwide, a total that included studio albums, singles, video releases, and compilation albums. The group accumulated 14 number-one singles in the United Kingdom. They achieved a total of 26 top ten singles over their 14-year career. They are the first act to have their first 7 singles at number 1. By 2010, Westlife was listed in the Guinness World Records, as the UK’s top-selling album group of the 21st century. Westlife are the most frequent winner of The Record of the Year, winning four times, and in 2012, the Official Charts Companylisted Westlife 34th amongst the biggest-selling singles artists in British music history. Despite their success worldwide, Westlife never managed to break into the U.S. market, achieving only one hit single in 2000: “Swear It Again“.

In October 2011, they announced their intention to split in 2012, following their Greatest Hits Tour and the release of their Greatest Hits album. The boyband’s final concerts were held on 22 and 23 June 2012 at Croke Park Stadium in Dublin. The first farewell concert, offering 85,000 tickets, sold out in a record-breaking five minutes and the latter screened live in cinemas worldwide.


From → Tak terkategori

Tinggalkan sebuah Komentar

Tinggalkan Balasan

Isikan data di bawah atau klik salah satu ikon untuk log in:


You are commenting using your account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Google+

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Logout /  Ubah )

Gambar Twitter

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Facebook

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Logout /  Ubah )


Connecting to %s

%d blogger menyukai ini: